New Bern Harbor  P1010003.JPG  The Birthplace of Pepsi  Campground

We spent the last couple of days checking out the New Bern area.We were lucky enough to be shown around by a sister of a co-worker.  Karla and Rich spent a moring showing us their new home town.

New Bern is a nice town, not too big, nor too small. Pretty town. Clean. Housing costs are varied. Very quant downtown historic district. (reminded me of old town Fredericksburg) It has a Super Walmart!, a movie theater, Belks, Lowes, etc. Most all the conveniences one would want. Major shopping is only 45 minutes away. Major airport is Raleigh, NC, which is 2 hours away. My sister likes this place so we stopped to pick her up some brochures, and information on one of the new golf communities in the early planning stages.

Know I said this before, but am still befuddled that a community comprised of this many active duty and retired military does not have an American Legion Post. Now, this may not be important to most/all of you…but it really is important to me. I know our American Legion Post is a vital part of our community. We do MUCH for the children, elderly and the veterans in our community that if we were to close our doors the loss would be felt deeply in our community. I also know that I have for years professed that a great way to get involved in our community and to meet people is to become active in our post. The only analogy I could come up with today when trying to explain how I felt to my friend Kathy was: “It is kind of similar to if you are a catholic and there isn’t a catholic church in a town.”  Just really missing something important to me.  My way to become involved in the community.

We stayed in the campground at Cherry Point. Cherry Point is located in the town of Havelock. This is between New Bern and Morehead City. Only 15 spaces. Behind the commissary. Full hook ups. (means we have water/electric/sewer) $15

